Cut in Half: The Hidden World Inside Everyday Objects

Brand: Chronicle Books
ISBN 1452168628
EAN: 9781452168623
Category: Book
List Price: $29.95
Price: $27.85  (29 customer reviews)
You Save: $2.10 (7%)
Dimension: 10.38 x 9.25 x 0.75 inches
Shipping Wt: 2.03 pounds. FREE Shipping (Details)
Availability: In Stock
Average Rating: 4.2 out of 5 stars
Buy From Amazon

Product Description

What exactly is inside a laptop, a golf ball, a vacuum cleaner, or a novelty singing fish toy? The insides of these and dozens of other objects are revealed in this photographic exploration of the stuff all around us, exposed and explained. With the help of a high-pressure waterjet cutter able to slice through 4 inches of steel plate, designer and fabricator Mike Warren (creator of the popular Cut in Half YouTube channel) cuts into everything from boom boxes to boxing gloves, oil filters to seashells, describing and demystifying the inner workings and materials of each. With a cleverly die-cut case and gorgeously detailed photography, Cut in Half is a fascinating and accessible popular science look at the extraordinary in the everyday.

• Entertaining photo-driven pop science book for curious minds
• Cross section views of household appliances, sports equipment, electronics, toys and games, and more

Fans of The Way Things Work, The Book of Hidden Things, and Things Come Apart will love this book.

This book is perfect for:
• Curious readers of all ages
• Cut in Half YouTube fans
• Pop science fans
• Photography buffs

Buy From Amazon

Top Reviews

Amazing book, questionable durability (binding)
by Angela Lee (2 out of 5 stars)
February 26, 2019

Everyone in our house LOVES this book! From the 38 year old daddy to the 7 year old 1st grader. The cover is awesome and content is great. The two stars is because of the book quality. We've had it a couple of months and it has been babied. The book is literally coming apart at the seams. I was hoping to donate this to a local school, but there is NO WAY it could hold up to elementary school kids and I can't find a library binding version. Not even taking that into account, I'm very disappointed about the binding of this book. Very, VERY disappointed.
↭ 🍁 ↭

Bigger and heavier and awesomer than I thought
by A. Peterson (5 out of 5 stars)
September 12, 2018

Saw this on Uncrate and purchased immediately. Way cooler than I expected! From a Furby to a Shake Weight...comprehensive coverage of stuff cut in half and now I want a 60,000 psi water jet.
↭ 🍁 ↭

It's just okay
by tyson herchak (2 out of 5 stars)
November 15, 2018

Less than expected. It doesn't seem that any love was included in the making of this book, and much love should have.

Not worth getting at all imo.
↭ 🍁 ↭

Outstanding and creative book!!!
by Bill Dresselhaus (5 out of 5 stars)
August 17, 2019

Wow!!! What an idea!!! This guy cuts all kinds of products in half with a water jet cutter and then shows the insides via photos. This is a great book for product design, industrial design and engineering design educators to show the innards of products and how they are designed inside. Great stuff!!!
↭ 🍁 ↭

Cover ripped when received
by C. Kelly (1 out of 5 stars)
April 16, 2019

The content seems good, but the book was shipped with a ripped inside cover. Only discovered now, a few days after receiving it, when ready to wrap as a gift. Too late to return. Bad purchase. (I have photos.)
↭ 🍁 ↭

Great gift for man's man
by Nolaco (5 out of 5 stars)
August 5, 2019

Got this for my boyfriend's father. He stared at it the entire time we opened gifts last Christmas, and it now is a coffee table book. It is interesting for people who love to tinker with things or see how they work.

He is this type. Funny enough, I think it would be great for kids also. Those with a curious mind will enjoy.
↭ 🍁 ↭

Great gift--fun book
by CRR (5 out of 5 stars)
July 24, 2019

I thought this was a cool idea and got it for my husband as a gift. He loves it and everyone who sees it thinks it's great. The cover even has a notch cut out so you can see how it's bound.
↭ 🍁 ↭

Don't order this one.
by B&B (3 out of 5 stars)
May 4, 2019

Interesting, bit not overwhelming, too few examples and pictures, not clear.
↭ 🍁 ↭

Awesomeness
by Jh (5 out of 5 stars)
October 21, 2018

A great, fun, educational book with awesome photos - and a very unique cover! Fun gift for kids of all ages.
↭ 🍁 ↭

Slice of cool
by M. S. (5 out of 5 stars)
November 15, 2018

Quite a cool project that the author undertook to slice interesting things in half - power tools, electronics, even a Jawbreaker, etc. Great photos, fun concept, very unique book cover.

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought


Buy From Amazon


*If this is not the "Cut in Half: The Hidden World Inside Everyday Objects" product you were looking for, you can check the other results by clicking this link.  Details were last updated on Mar 4, 2024 00:34 +08.